VANOS Lockdown using Beisan Systems

Discussion in 'E46 M3 (2001-2006)' started by Dali, Oct 26, 2013.

1. 26 Oct 2013 at 5:26 PM #1
    Dali

Dali Achieved official socks

Your Motor:
    nothing
    Hi, this post is an excerpt from my journal:

http://forums.m3cutters.co.uk/showthread.php?p=1198284#67

I thought it would be a good idea to give it its own thread as it deals with the VANOS issues on the S54. It is by no means the 'bible' on the subject but should be useful for owners. :)

VANOS Lockdown - Part 1

VANOS issues are probably the biggest concern for most us with M3s. There is a lot of information out there which explains exactly what the issues are and most importantly.... solutions!

I am no expert on the VANOS system but once you understand 'exactly' what the problems are, you can start buying parts/kits to bullet proof the system. I'll include links for further reading at the end.

My journey into refurbishing the VANOS all began a few months ago when I performed the VANOS test in GT1. The diagnosis reported that I had an inlet leak somewhere in the system - essentially a loss of pressure in the system which means variable valve timing won't be spot on, thus a reduction in performance.

How VANOS works

This video is by no means comprehensive, however it does highlight in simple terms the VANOS system. Note that the S54 is a double VANOS, so it has variable valve timing for the intake and exhaust, whereas the video only shows the intake.

VANOS Issues
    • Solenoid coil pack failure - Badly soldered joints from factory and a combination of engine vibration causes cracks within the circuit board.
    • Sticking solenoid valves - Oil can clog the solenoid valves prohibiting movement, meaning oil pressure is not fluctuated properly.
    • Deteriorating solenoid sealing plate seals - will cause a leak meaning oil pressure isn't regulated. Remember seals deteriorate with age, not necessarily mileage!