INPA problems

Discussion in 'Faults, Fixes and Solutions' started by Richard6, Jan 9, 2018.

  1. 18 Jan 2018 at 5:44 PM #41
    timotei198

    timotei198 On the path

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Your Motor:
    E46 M3
    Colour Combo:
    Silver Grey
    Yeah I think your right, I was just following the PDF instructions which said to do this even though I have the k-line cable as you do. When I was looking into it yesterday it is only needed for cars 2007 onwards with the DCAN cable.
     
  2. 18 Jan 2018 at 8:42 PM #42
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    Regarding the LED on the cable plug, should this illuminate when it is plugged into the obd port of the car even when the other end isn't in the laptop?

    Is it the PC that feeds the power for the led or the port in the car, if that makes sense?

    Cheers, Richard.
     
  3. 18 Jan 2018 at 8:44 PM #43
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    On every cable I have seen, yes.
    Dude, you're just going back and too over thinking it now :)
     
  4. 20 Jan 2018 at 6:43 PM #44
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    The car is currently encapsulated in snow and ice. The led has never lit up anytime I had the laptop connected and wasn't sure if it only lit when the link between the software and the car was established.

    I'm hoping the OBD port isn't faulty. I've never had anything connected to the port in near ten years. Prior to that the car had been at main dealer for scheduled services (pre 38,000 miles) by its first owner so I'm not sure if it was every connected while there or whether they just reset it at the dashboard.

    Will take the cable out and try it again. BCables claim on the instruction that the cables are tested prior to shipping so I'm not expecting it to be faulty :rolleyes:

    Maybe I would be better hunting down a pin out for the obd port and taking my Fluke out instead?

    Cheers, Richard.
     
  5. 20 Jan 2018 at 11:45 PM #45
    m3shift

    m3shift On the path

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Your Motor:
    BMW M3 E46
    Colour Combo:
    Sliver and Red Leather
    Can you download TeamViewer on the laptop you are using to scan the car with ?

    it doesn't need to be plugged into the car I can check all the drivers for you and install a known working copy of INPA if you would like,

    Also if your internet connection did reach to the car I could then test INPA for you via TeamViewer,

    PM if this is of any help I have been seeing your posts for awhile and think it's a simple fix,

    Also is your key in position 2 my red light on the cable doesn't light up until then?

    Best Regards,

    M3SHIFT
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2018
  6. 28 Jan 2018 at 9:13 PM #46
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    Most times it is either the driver installation messed up, wrong com port or even duplicate com ports where one has been manually entered / scripted into the registry so a conflict that could not normally occur (physical com or modem exists)
     
  7. 11 Feb 2018 at 6:39 PM #47
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    Weather permitting, I'm hoping to chase this INPA problem again over the next few days as I've not had much opportunity to look at her car. Recently, the only time the cars been home is when the weathers been $hit or I've been otherwise busy.

    Can anyone verify if the led on the cable socket lights up on plugging the cable into the OBD port without connecting the other end into the laptop?

    Its looking like I will get a look at the back of the obd socket as I'm going to have to pull it all out to change the final stage resistor unit which I'm waiting arrival on Tuesday.

    Not looking forward too having upper skeletal issues and also recovering from surgery. Thinking of using a board to lie on, propped up on a pile of blocks to save lying over the door sill to ease the pain a little :D

    Will look into installing team viewer which I don't think I have currently.
     
  8. 25 Mar 2018 at 6:40 PM #48
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    In the absence of the winter weather and the change of the clocks, i decided to have another go and getting to the bottom of my problems. I went back through the earlier posts and deleted two suspect things showing that could be conflicting the drivers. I realised these that i pictured earlier showing as "RIM" were from my use of Blackberry software some time ago so i deleted them out.

    I popped out, connected up all the cables and everything seem to be working now on the software side of things anyway but the DSC/ABS/Red brake warning are still with me. I cleared them but they have reappeared immediately and the error code 5DF5 appears.

    On reading the analogue status all my wheel sensors read correctly when i move the car.

    Reading the DSC sensors, they all appear ok in the green (pretty much bang on centre) with the brake pressures equally increasing up to 120ish when pressing the pedal and the steering angle responding and reading correctly.

    On reading voltage / temps, its reading around 15.0 degrees.

    Voltage Uref reads 0. ??? Is this normal?
    Voltage Pump reads 0. ??? Is this normal?

    Voltage clumb_30 reads 14.0.
    Voltage Vcc reads 5.

    In CAN data the steering angle and engine rpm are responding as per my steering movement and correspond with the dash rev counter.


    In reading digital, the brake light, handbrake status are ok but operating the DSC button gives no response?

    Is this normal? due to my error problem or could the switch be the problem?

    i ask this as when pressing the switch, it feels different to the HVAC buttons in the button doesnt press in equally but seems to only push in at the lower portion of the button like its hinged at the top?

    As you may have read in another post i made, i had earlier borrowed a code reader and obtained the same code but as these pumps vary in price i didnt want to chuck a small fortune at something until i found the actual problem.

    Any ideas / input appreciated as I need to get to the bottom of this pending its MOT test.

    Thanks in advance, Richard.

    i forgot to add, when i go into analogue, it shows an option for F5 Read pressure sensor on the screen but down on the bottom toolbar, the button is present but the writing p-Sensor is greyed out and selecting F5 does nothing.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2018

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice