INPA problems

Discussion in 'Faults, Fixes and Solutions' started by Richard6, Jan 9, 2018.

  1. 15 Jan 2018 at 7:40 AM #21
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    No, it's called OBD.ini
    It's in
    C:\ediabas\bin
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2018
  2. 15 Jan 2018 at 6:24 PM #22
    timotei198

    timotei198 On the path

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Your Motor:
    E46 M3
    Colour Combo:
    Silver Grey
    Richard6, Sorry for jumping in on your thread but I hope this may help you as well as me. These are my settings:

    OBD.ini? file that is just called OBD on my screen in EDIABAS - bin.
    [​IMG]

    My OBD settings:

    [OBD]
    Hardware=USB
    Port=Com5
    RETRY=ON
    [UNIT_G]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com8
    [UNIT_K]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com12
    [UNIT_C]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com4
    [UNIT_N]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com15
    [UNIT_B]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com3
    [UNIT_F]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com7
    [UNIT_H]
    Port=Com9
    Hardware=OBD
    [UNIT_J]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com11
    [UNIT_D]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com2
    [UNIT_E]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com6
    [UNIT_I]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com10
    [UNIT_L]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com13
    [UNIT_O]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com16
    [UNIT_M]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com14
    [UNIT_A]
    Hardware=OBD
    Port=Com1

    Device manager port settings:
    [​IMG]

    My error message when try to set up DCAN to 100 kbit/s K-CAN:
    [​IMG]

    E46CoupeM3, thanks for the help so far, hope to be able to get to the bottom of this.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2018
  3. 16 Jan 2018 at 9:13 PM #23
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    No problem posting hereTimotei198, anything that gets to the bottom of the problems is welcome.

    Im going to attempt uploading some screen grabs here which might help. Bare with me as i have just created the postimage account and its all new to me, hopefully will get up all the info requested by end of the night. i have the dog to walk so will be on & off adding (or trying to) stuff on. Please bear with me..

    Device manager;
    [​IMG]

    Cable details;
    [​IMG]

    Cable Driver Details;
    [​IMG]

    Cable Drivers;
    [​IMG]

    Cable Port Settings;
    [​IMG]

    Cable Properties;
    [​IMG]

    Inpa Engine Error;
    [​IMG]

    Inpa Error;
    [​IMG]

    OBD;
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
  4. 16 Jan 2018 at 9:17 PM #24
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    ^where is the obd.ini contents.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
  5. 16 Jan 2018 at 9:41 PM #25
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    Device manager is fuzzy, I assume it says ports COM1 and 4, is this correct?

    Also did you run OBDsetup from the command prompt as requested and the output from that
     
  6. 16 Jan 2018 at 9:46 PM #26
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    Also wouldn't mind seeing contents of ediabas.ini
    The ini files would be better as text pasted in in possible.



    ( I would say your interface is not on the com port INPA is speaking to through the ediabas program.

    I might run the OBDsetup as I described, not double click to see the output.
    Test again if output ok
    If still not working
    Change OBD.ini to com4
    Rerun the obdsetup and try again

    But if working through it logically I would be checking the resources the cable uses to see if they relate to a com port. I am not sure com1 and com 4 should be showing, I might delete those then unplug and replug the cable to see if just one appears - this is messy though, prefer to see what the files say)
     
  7. 16 Jan 2018 at 10:54 PM #27
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    Had just ran it through explorer, need a MSDOS refresher course, have upsized the device manager image

    [​IMG]
     
  8. 16 Jan 2018 at 11:00 PM #28
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    [Configuration]
    IfhTrace=0
    IgnitionHandling=0
    Interface=STD:OBD
    LogLevel=0
    ApiTrace=0
    TraceSize=1024
    SimulationPath=C:\EDIABAS\SIM
    RetryComm=1
    ClampHandling=0
    TraceHistory=0
    EcuPath=C:\EDIABAS\ECU
    NetworkProtocol=TCP
    Simulation=0
    TracePath=C:\EDIABAS\TRACE
    TraceBuffering=0
    ShowIcon=1
    SystemResults=1
    TaskPriority=0
    TraceSync=1
    UbattHandling=0
    [XEthernet]
    ControlPort=6811
    DiagnosticPort=6801
    HeaderFormat=0
    RemoteHost=192.168.68.1
    TesterAddress=F4,F5
    TimeoutConnect=20000
    [TCP]
    Port=3000
    RemoteHost=LMUC203404
    TimeoutConnect=2000
    TimeoutFunction=10000
    TimeoutReceive=2000
    [IfhProxy]
    Port=6801
     
  9. 16 Jan 2018 at 11:24 PM #29
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    [​IMG]
     
  10. 17 Jan 2018 at 1:56 AM #30
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    I think it looks like either you have com1 in the OBD.ini and its com4
    Or the two USB com ports need deleting and the cable then reinstall

    1 cable shouldn't be on 2 ports and show as a cable too
     
  11. 17 Jan 2018 at 7:39 AM #31
    timotei198

    timotei198 On the path

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Your Motor:
    E46 M3
    Colour Combo:
    Silver Grey
    Richard6,
    Have you done this part and if so what was the outcome?:
    [​IMG]

    The car I'm trying to connect to is an E46 M3, do I need to do this part? My cable is a "K-LINE Cable (Blue Cable)"

    Thanks
     
  12. 17 Jan 2018 at 8:22 AM #32
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    Richard6
    Device manager shows com3 and com4
    Obd.ini shows com 1
    Edit obd.ini in the top 2 or 3 lines
    Run obdsetup
    Try for each
    Note you will always get interface disturbed if not hooked to car and ignition on
     
  13. 17 Jan 2018 at 8:09 PM #33
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    I was under the impression that was for the Dcan cable. I've only got the blue k-line one so haven't looked as far as that.
     
  14. 17 Jan 2018 at 8:13 PM #34
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    Will boot up the PC and look at this once I've dealt with the dog and other man duties then I won't get disturbed hopefully.

    Do I just change it going in through windows explorer and save it there?

    Thanks again, Richard.
     
  15. 17 Jan 2018 at 8:23 PM #35
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    Looking at your pc you viewed it in notepad (notepad written top left corner)

    So edit in there.

    Ideally right click ->copy
    right click -> Paste first
    SO you have a backup before editing

    From what I see if the com 3 or com 4 is the correct port that is not in the OBD.ini at present

    What I don't know - as said earlier why you have the 3 entries.
    If we could see the resources used for the cable item they could relate to a com port such as com1 and the config be correct

    However, it doesn't look right but base on what I know and what I think you can do following instructions as said earlier

    edit obd.ini
    run obdsetup
    try to connect to car
    if failed CLOSE INPA AND EDIABAS
    edit file to be the other com port and try again

    If it doesn't work put it back as was

    Then have a re-read of the earlier post I made about having the two com ports and cable showing

    Remember car ignition lights have to be on

    Might also be worth checking com port baud rate is 9600 IIRC

    As I say partially working blind here
     
  16. 17 Jan 2018 at 10:40 PM #36
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    Just having a look through all this again and in the advanced settings -

    (Device manager>Ports (Com &LPT) > BMCABLES.COM Diagnostic Cable>Properties>Port Settings>Advanced)

    The USB transfer size is set at 4096 for transmit & receive?

    When I click on the COM Port Number (which says COM1) and the drop down list appears, it says COM3, COM 4 and COM5 are in use next to them. All the others are blank?

    When I disable the Cable and go into Device manager>Ports (Com &LPT) >RIM Virtual Serial Port v2 (COM3)>Properties>Port Settings>Advanced) and select COM3 and the list drops down, it says only COM4 & COM5 are in use?

    When I go into Device manager>Ports (Com &LPT) >RIM Virtual Serial Port v2 (COM4)>Properties>Port Settings>Advanced) and select COM4 and the list drops down, it says only COM3 & COM5 are in use?


    Not sure if that narrows my issue down any though
     
  17. 17 Jan 2018 at 10:53 PM #37
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    Right so in theory the cable is on COM1 and the OBD.ini says com1 so the two should be aligned.

    If a cable is connected to the car and you turn off the ignitions you get transmission interrupted or similar. When it's correctly connected to the car but the module you are after is not there or not responding it says not responding.

    So you can work through the stuff mentioned before or you can reinstall the cable (mentioned before) or you can look for Baudrate in there and make sure it's 9600
     
  18. 17 Jan 2018 at 10:54 PM #38
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    When you unplug the cable do all three items, cable and the two com ports, disappear?
     
  19. 18 Jan 2018 at 12:48 AM #39
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    The two com ports stay, that's what I was saying in the last post. I thought that might have been my two USB ports represented (only has two), but why one doesn't disappear when I plug in the cable.

    I've forgotten virtually everything I learned about computers back in the day. Haven't been in the device manager of a computer since about 2001 :D

    If she stopped giving me earache, I might be able to get my head round it before my Tramadol & Gabapentin kick in and I get hit with real brain fog.
     
  20. 18 Jan 2018 at 8:57 AM #40
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    USB ports are not represented as com ports when nothing is plugged in so something is wrong or they are for something else.

    Work through the stuff already said
    Make sure cable gets a power light when plugged in the socket
    Make sure no pins bent in cable and socket

    However, I think you are on the right com port but noharm trying the others and putting it back

    After that I would right click -> uuninstall those USB com ports and the cable and then reinstall the cable
     

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice