Forged Internals on N/A?

Discussion in 'Engine maintenance, upgrades and modifications' started by Bubblegunz, May 9, 2016.

1. 9 May 2016 at 8:46 AM #1
    Bubblegunz

Bubblegunz Banned

What're you driving?:
    2003 BMW e46 M3
    Hi Guys, I am new to the engine rebuild scene and I have some questions. It has recently hit me in the head to rebuild my engine with WOssner pistons, ZRP rods and ARP bolt and increase the rpm to 8.5k. A set of Catcams 288/280 and decatted midpipe + backbox. My issue is, do I need a rebuild if I am going N/A? I will never boost the S54, it is just not my thing, but I do want to find its limits on a road-going vehicle. So here is what my concerns are.

- My engine is going strong at 160k km (about 100k miles) no oil leeks, no excess vibration, the map on the engine is not right (I am not in the UK) and sometimes I can feel it not operating at its highest, but still, no physical evidence of any extreme wear. So what will I really get from a rebuild on an engine which quiet frankly, does not need one? Which leads me to my next concerns:

- What will a rebuild with forged internals do for an N/A engine? It will probably rev faster, but the truth is the OEM rods and pistons are pretty freaking light and pretty strong, so will there be any noticable difference?

- What power can I expect? Is 400 HP unrealistic? Will I need titanium rods to get there, or Arrow Precision ones for which I will need to sell my organs or start selling drugs for that matter?

- I am currently removing the filter system which feeds exhaust air back into the engine and my car is getting decated, 63mm dual pipes and a new backbox as we speak (I do not live in the UK so I can do that hehe), so if I get +15-20 bhp (370) how much more can I expect from a rebuild?

- Leaving the horsepower away, what are the benefits? Will the car FEEL 10x better, in terms of the engine pulling better across the powerband? Is it a worthwile thing to do at all on an N/A s54?