E36 M3 Evo, what software to use

Discussion in 'BMW Diagnostic, programming and software discussion' started by M3GFX, Aug 3, 2018.

  1. 3 Aug 2018 at 9:59 PM #1
    M3GFX

    M3GFX On the path

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your Motor:
    E36 M3
    I have a ADS cable and DIS 44 installed, it seems to work fine.

    I installed from RV8FLYBOY dvd

    I also have INPA 3.0.1, i get a script error everytime i do anything with the e36 modules. If i flick the switch on my cable from ADS i get the ignition on showing in the INPA software.

    Any ideas how to make it work?
     
  2. 3 Aug 2018 at 10:00 PM #2
    M3GFX

    M3GFX On the path

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your Motor:
    E36 M3
    i actually get the same script error when i select any car in INPA
     
  3. 3 Aug 2018 at 10:04 PM #3
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    Not enough information.
     
  4. 3 Aug 2018 at 10:15 PM #4
    M3GFX

    M3GFX On the path

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your Motor:
    E36 M3
    on a dell D630 with XP installed so has a native serial port

    what do you need to know?
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2018
  5. 3 Aug 2018 at 10:26 PM #5
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    The error message for starters
    What com port
    Did you disable any build in modem that may be on com 1
    Have you got diaghead program installed? And is it off when using INPA
     
  6. 3 Aug 2018 at 11:01 PM #6
    M3GFX

    M3GFX On the path

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your Motor:
    E36 M3
    The error reads 'error compiling script file!'

    I didn't disable any modem, i don't think it has one.
    I don't have diaghead installed.
     
  7. 3 Aug 2018 at 11:11 PM #7
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    Well if DIS works in VM and uses underlying eidabas installed in windows then that and the serial and the cable work ok. Sounds like INPA

    If you used something like filemon / regmon or process mon you should be able to see what file
     
  8. 4 Aug 2018 at 12:07 AM #8
    M3GFX

    M3GFX On the path

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your Motor:
    E36 M3
    I just installed a different version of INPA and can dow get into the E36 sections, i managed to activate a few things on the car through it.

    I'm getting a different error a lot now though.

    'Variant checking'
    IFH-0009: NO RESPONSE FROM CONTROLUNIT, program will be stopped!'

    I'm now on INPA version 5
     
  9. 5 Aug 2018 at 6:19 PM #9
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    You're not telling us what modules you can access and activate stuff on and what modules you are having trouble with and what features work and what don't.

    Can't guess from here
     
  10. 9 Aug 2018 at 11:44 AM #10
    M3GFX

    M3GFX On the path

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your Motor:
    E36 M3
    I can access the
    engine module and activate aircon compressor, fuel injectors etc
    Internal digital climate control, and activate blower, open flaps and make the readout all on.
    Thats pretty much it, can't access anything else, it all fails
     

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice