Booked first track session, tips?

Discussion in 'Track-days' started by 7DT, Jun 15, 2018.

1. 15 Jun 2018 at 3:21 PM #1
    7DT

7DT Achieved official socks

Your Motor:
    2002 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black / Black
    Booked it Wednesday for this Saturday on whim at brands hatch, so not really given myself any time to really pr we pare. Any tips? Crap I should bring? Had car up on ramp to check it last night and it all looks ok, will check fluids this eve.

Anyway, help a total novice out!

2. 15 Jun 2018 at 3:31 PM #2
    sydown

sydown Achieved official socks

Your Motor:
    E46 M3 Track Car
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    Congrats on booking your first track session in the car.
    Take some extra oil in case it uses any on track, tyre pressure gauge to check pressures after the first session (chances are you will need to let a little air out as they will be a higher pressure when hot).

As you say check all fluids before you go and ensure all of the brake pads have a good amount of friction material left on them.

Short of that just have fun and don't push too hard! If you can get some instruction while you are there so much the better, if not an experienced track day driver should be able to give you some tips!

Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
  3. 15 Jun 2018 at 4:28 PM #3
    Telsy

Telsy Achieved official socks

Your Motor:
    2017 F80 M3 DCT Comp pack
    Colour Combo:
    Silverstone / Black
    As he said ^^^, just take it easy, build up your pace and have fun. Remember the aim of the day is to be able to drive home, car and yourself in one piece with an ear to ear grin.

4. 15 Jun 2018 at 5:47 PM #4
    billyboym3

billyboym3 Achieved official socks

Your Motor:
    2004 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    E46 M3
    Do short stints and keep your fluids up, drink plenty of water and I would book instruction first thing.

5. 15 Jun 2018 at 7:02 PM #5
    PMed

PMed Achieved official socks

Your Motor:
    2004 e46 M3 coupe
    Colour Combo: