1. 4 Oct 2020 at 11:27 PM #21
    yerfdog

    yerfdog A mere Chipper

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What're you driving?:
    M4 Comp
    Did not know until day of pickup. It was when the dealer when to do a final check and it flagged with needed info a software update. Was then told that there would be no drive train warranty. I thought I only had 18 months lift on it anyways let’s try and get a deal.

    I got it £7,000 less then value. It is 18 months old.

    £400 for the capture plate as a safe guard and a few grand saved incase it really goes tits up.

    I don’t think it is a slipped hub as the power can come back when you reset the the car. No drive train messages and not relating codes on ISTA.

    I drop it on Tuesday, if the problem is not drive train related it will be covered. If not I will have a fight on my hand. It is not mapped now, I want to at some point hence another reason for the capture plate.
     
  2. 4 Oct 2020 at 11:33 PM #22
    T5Pilot

    T5Pilot Wearing official crakows

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    931
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    What're you driving?:
    F82 M4CP & S1000XR
    Colour Combo:
    Black Sapphire / Sakhir Orange / Carbon
    I'm sorry mate. If you bought it from a BMW dealer, there's no way they knocked £7K off it. Sounds like they've stuffed you good & proper. Had you not gone & had the capture plate done, I'd be shouting REJECT, REJECT! But you've made sure you can't even do that now. I really think you're going to be suffering a very expensive lesson unfortunately.
     
    YMBF80 likes this.
  3. 5 Oct 2020 at 2:54 AM #23
    Penetrator

    Penetrator Flexing a golden cincture

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    1,184
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What're you driving?:
    F87 M2 Competition
    If I was you I would take it back to BMW, chances are that if they didn’t know it was mapped until last minute, then they 100% wouldn’t know if at point of sale it had a capture plate already on the car if you get me.
    This all sound a little suss to me, BMW dealership wouldn’t be able to sell a car thats got no warranty, they’d send it off to an Auction and try there luck!
     
    Unit and YMBF80 like this.
  4. 5 Oct 2020 at 8:02 AM #24
    yerfdog

    yerfdog A mere Chipper

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What're you driving?:
    M4 Comp
    That was what i was thinking. I can play stupid and say i did not know about the plate. Lets see what BMW say tomorrow. Hopfully is is just a sensor as the only codes it is throwing is for the ICM. Nothing about camshafts, timming etc.

    Checked the car this morning. Has been sitting since friday. Unlocked with my head on the bonnet. No ticking/clicking at all.
     
    Penetrator likes this.
  5. 5 Oct 2020 at 11:01 AM #25
    DeadEye

    DeadEye Flexing a golden cincture

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831
    Likes Received:
    848
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What're you driving?:
    M4 CP
    Colour Combo:
    Blue Hera Mica/Full Opal and Fjord Blue Contrast
    Yep, Id be very surprised if they'd sell it with no warranty.

    I did a deal on an E46 M3 convertable at Tring BMW. The day I went to collect and was doing the paperwork I noticed the RIS was done at 1800 miles and flagged it to them. They said "oh no sir I'm sorry, we cannot sell you the car as the engine has nor warranty."
     
    lawsy and YMBF80 like this.
  6. 5 Oct 2020 at 11:30 AM #26
    yerfdog

    yerfdog A mere Chipper

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What're you driving?:
    M4 Comp
    They sold it to me but it would not be sold as an approved used BMW. That is why i got it cheeper. The good thing is that it had already had the normal approved used checks and fresh service before they noticed.

    I am taken mine to Tring tomorrow.
     
  7. 5 Oct 2020 at 12:20 PM #27
    glynharper

    glynharper Underwear thermally upgraded

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,525
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    What're you driving?:
    2014 F82 M4 DCT
    Colour Combo:
    Mineral White / Black Nappa Leather
    If you are planning on modding the car anyway, then it's probably a good call you made taking the big discount and keeping it towards any maintenance issues in the future. Turbo oil seals seem to be a weak point especially if they're mapped. BMW charge about £6.5k to swap them, although an indie should do it for less than £2k.
    Bit of a pain if it's got some drivetrain issue already though, especially as some of these issues happen as frequently to totally standard cars as they do to modded ones, but they will still wriggle out of it.
    With regards your hub capture plate, aside from your current issue.. they're not thought to guarantee the hub won't slip.. just stop the bolt completely backing out. Single piece keyed hubs are thought to be the best way to prevent the crank hub slipping, but you're looking at about £1.6k for that to be done, depending on who does it and which kit they use.
     
  8. 5 Oct 2020 at 12:33 PM #28
    Blue Scorpion

    Blue Scorpion Wearing official underwear

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North East
    What're you driving?:
    BMW M4 Convertible Competition
    Colour Combo:
    Yas Marina Blue / Silverstone
    This whole thread just sounds so wrong!
    There is no way a BMW main dealer would sell a vehicle with no warranty and then for £7 k discount.
    Knowing BMW they would have put the car through an auction.
     
    Unit, DeadEye and YMBF80 like this.
  9. 5 Oct 2020 at 12:33 PM #29
    yerfdog

    yerfdog A mere Chipper

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What're you driving?:
    M4 Comp
    I dont have drivetrain issues as such, just a drop of power until i restart the car sometimes. If i was having crank hub issues i was loss of power and loads of codes all the time?

    How can turbo seals cost that much, you can replacment turbos for less.
     
  10. 5 Oct 2020 at 12:37 PM #30
    yerfdog

    yerfdog A mere Chipper

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What're you driving?:
    M4 Comp
    I can tell you now, they did.
    I have the car and paper work infront of me.

    **** luck I know. I wanted to walk away but the wife pushed me to get it.
    I bloody had a feeling something like this would happen.

    Just need to know if is is likely the crank hub or not. What other checks can i do, anyway of checking timing on ISTA?
     
    toiletduck likes this.
  11. 5 Oct 2020 at 12:45 PM #31
    Blue Scorpion

    Blue Scorpion Wearing official underwear

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North East
    What're you driving?:
    BMW M4 Convertible Competition
    Colour Combo:
    Yas Marina Blue / Silverstone
    Which main dealer did you get this from?

    Also there is a member on here who can check the reg number to see if it has a hidden history.
     
  12. 5 Oct 2020 at 12:49 PM #32
    yerfdog

    yerfdog A mere Chipper

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What're you driving?:
    M4 Comp
    Marshalls.

    What made it worse is that they said that map is still on the car. So i though great saves me a bit more cash.
    It is not and the DME has a 2020 software and locked now so cant even use BM3 if i wanted.

    Last 6 cars have been BMW, leaving a bit of a bad tast.
     
  13. 5 Oct 2020 at 1:03 PM #33
    cossie1

    cossie1 Flexing a golden cincture

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,486
    Likes Received:
    3,186
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What're you driving?:
    2015 M4 Coupe
    Colour Combo:
    Mineral White / Black
    Bit of a long shot, but I wonder if the previous map that was put on the car was done by a tuner that uses the same tune for all cars, thus changing your 2019 dme software to a 2016 software version (for example). But when BMW updated the software they put the 2019 / 2020 tune into it as it would read the hardware ID not the software ID (only a guess, but it is possible to mix it up and cross flash the wrong tunes and that will cause all sorts of weird issues).
     
  14. 5 Oct 2020 at 1:15 PM #34
    yerfdog

    yerfdog A mere Chipper

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What're you driving?:
    M4 Comp
    Nice thought, would have this not been a problem from delivery?
    It has been great for 5 weeks. Just since the capture plate was installed. Just cant think how the capture plate could have caursed this.
     
  15. 5 Oct 2020 at 1:20 PM #35
    T5Pilot

    T5Pilot Wearing official crakows

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    931
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    What're you driving?:
    F82 M4CP & S1000XR
    Colour Combo:
    Black Sapphire / Sakhir Orange / Carbon
    That's just too much of a coincidence. It's fine before the capture plate, gone t*ts up afterwards. It's not rocket science, whoever's done the capture plate has messed something up. Just take it back to them to sort, it's nothing to do with BMW.
     
  16. 5 Oct 2020 at 1:20 PM #36
    cossie1

    cossie1 Flexing a golden cincture

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,486
    Likes Received:
    3,186
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What're you driving?:
    2015 M4 Coupe
    Colour Combo:
    Mineral White / Black
    I would have thought so, but the weather has changed in that time so the dme could use different tables now and hence the issue has come to light.

    As said only guessing.

    I would expect there to be an error in the dme if it was a dodgy sensor (or loose connection).
     
  17. 5 Oct 2020 at 1:22 PM #37
    adie

    adie Standard amice donned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    344
    Trophy Points:
    83
    What're you driving?:
    F80 M3
    Colour Combo:
    Sapphire Black / Silverstone
    That does seem a huge coincidence, perhaps they dislodged an electrical/sensor connector when fitting the plate. Who fitted it... Litchfield?
     
  18. 5 Oct 2020 at 1:29 PM #38
    Blue Scorpion

    Blue Scorpion Wearing official underwear

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North East
    What're you driving?:
    BMW M4 Convertible Competition
    Colour Combo:
    Yas Marina Blue / Silverstone
    So not tuned.


    So is still tuned with the map?
     
    Repols likes this.
  19. 5 Oct 2020 at 1:31 PM #39
    Blue Scorpion

    Blue Scorpion Wearing official underwear

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North East
    What're you driving?:
    BMW M4 Convertible Competition
    Colour Combo:
    Yas Marina Blue / Silverstone
    BMW said they removed the map but as seen they say it is still on the vehicle??
     
  20. 5 Oct 2020 at 2:20 PM #40
    glynharper

    glynharper Underwear thermally upgraded

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,525
    Likes Received:
    425
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    What're you driving?:
    2014 F82 M4 DCT
    Colour Combo:
    Mineral White / Black Nappa Leather
    If it was crank hub it wouldn't reset like you say is happening. It may just be a dodgy sensor if you're lucky.
    On the turbos.. you would think just changing the seals would indeed be a simple thing to do! BMW themselves are more in the market of just swapping parts rather than trying to fix them, which is where their 6.5k cost comes from. The 2k cost is for getting a new pair of OEM turbos, and having them fitted by someone. It's quite a job to do. You could get your turbos repaired if they ever fail, but it's a bit hit and miss whether they are repairable when the seals have gone completely, as they will then start wearing the bearings, shafts.. etc.. making them beyond economical repair. And your car would be in bits for quite a while while that process happened. So most people just swap the turbos anyway. If after the event the turbos are able to be refurbed, you could do that and sell them on.
    May not happen though as some cars do seem to be fine at 80,000 miles, even with maps.. but a lot have had their seals go, on standard as well as modded cars, at the 38-45k mark.
    Turbos are never meant to last as long as the engine and are a serviceable component unfortunately.

    Sorry you seem to be getting a bit of a roasting on here.. I was actually being positive about your purchase. :)
     

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice