ABS / DSC warning lights.

Discussion in 'Faults, Fixes and Solutions' started by Richard6, Feb 18, 2018.

  1. 18 Feb 2018 at 8:01 PM #1
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    Hi, Following from my earlier post I have read the codes from a friends code reader while getting to the bottom of the INPA issues.

    I plugged in the code reader and cleared all the stored codes, however one code remains and won't clear - 5DF5.

    While connected, the live data shows all the wheels reading the same mph, the brake pressures were equal and went up equally to around the nineties with a firm press of the pedal.

    The only thing that I couldn't get to verify in the tests was the operation of the DSC button >3 secs.

    Google search brings up a multitude of stuff regarding parting with £1000+ at the stealer for a unit and coding which doesn't always fix.

    Spend hundreds on a remanufactured unit and find the problem still exists.

    Buying an eBay replacement for 30 quid and recode, with mixed stories of success.

    Butchering the unit with a dremel and attacking fry / cold solfer joints with the soldering iron.

    A good batter with a hammer :roflmao:

    Claims that wheel sensors still are the problem.

    Has anyone any experience on this fault?

    I have noticed a few threads appear here recently with abs DSC issues.

    Nearly forgot, the ABS still seems to be working OK

    Thanks in advance, Richard.
     
  2. 18 Feb 2018 at 8:03 PM #2
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
  3. 18 Feb 2018 at 8:07 PM #3
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    E46CoupeM3, the equipment I have borrowed is a Foxwell Automaster that has the obd plug and an rs232 type connector at the hand terminal and it reads everything OK.

    I replaced the final stage resistor and checked the obd socket pins for continuity and they were OK.

    So its either the cable or software install, not had time or weather to look further into it as my laptop battery gone so needs extended power leads out to car when dry.

    Just realised my laptop might have same rs232 type socket. Would that stuff up the driver assignment connecting it though?
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2018
  4. 18 Feb 2018 at 8:15 PM #4
    Richard6

    Richard6 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Your Motor:
    E46 Coupe
    I'm considering deleting everything out and doing a re-install again as I would like to get it sorted out.

    Do you think that I should delete the drivers first and redo them or do it all? I was considering the offer I got on my other thread to download the teamviewer and let someone with more knowledge fix it quickly.
     
  5. 18 Feb 2018 at 8:17 PM #5
    E46CoupeM3

    E46CoupeM3 Achieved official socks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    15,442
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    England
    Your Motor:
    2001 BMW M3
    Colour Combo:
    Carbon Black
    I think it is the cable / driver install and as said previously. But you haven't tried half the stuff Ive suggested around that in the past so maybe team viewer is the low effort answer
     
  6. 19 Feb 2018 at 4:50 PM #6
    BBA Reman

    BBA Reman A mere Chipper

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester
    Your Motor:
    2004 BMW M3
    Hi there,

    5DF5 is an ABS ECU electronics based issue, we see them all the time at BBA-Reman. Normally we can repair them without the need for re-coding depending on what microchips/components are required. In any case you would be contacted prior to going ahead to let you know.

    The price for the repair is £159+VAT and carriage and the unit would then be covered by our lifetime guarantee. ;) If the unit is not faulty, we will be able to tell straightaway and the cost for testing is just £35+VAT. You will then know for sure.

    Give us a call on 01364687222 - we would love to help!

    :thumbsup:
     

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice