The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum
 

Go Back   The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum > M3 and M4 Talk > E46 M3 (2001-2006)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11th February 2018, 12:33 AM   #1
7DT
Achieved official socks
 
7DT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: London
Posts: 757
Car: 2002 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Black
Default TPS problems.

So I've had codes 230,120,121,60 all thrown today.

Car starts fine. Revs fine stationary. But drive it and hit a magic 5k revs and it goes into limp mode.

Inpa in car shows it thinking the engine is revving at 12 to 14k when it's doing 2-3 In limp.

Bit of a bummer as I've just had karbononis airbox put on.

Points to TPS sensor but after speaking to some people am wondering if:
- could it be a bad tune? I've used a csl clone ecu with vin recoded to mine.
-related to faulty map or iat sensors including miswired?
-related to the oil level sensor getting replaced.
- could moving the dipstick have knocked something loose?

Or any other ideas? All help appreciated.
7DT is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Old 11th February 2018, 12:38 AM   #2
AC427
Achieved official socks
 
AC427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,412
Car: E46 M3 Convertible
Colour Combo: Estoril / Champagne
Default

Who did the work for you ?
AC427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 12:44 AM   #3
PMed
Achieved official socks
 
PMed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 869
Car: 2004 e46 M3 coupe
Colour Combo: Estoril Blue
Default

Can you borrow someone else's TPS to swap in to see if it cures the problem?
PMed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 01:19 AM   #4
Iain
Achieved official socks
 
Iain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Isle of man
Posts: 3,285
Car: AMG estate
Default

seems weird, the tps is just a potentiometer so i would get how it could give a duff throttle angle but not how it would influence rpm as thats not dependent on the tps and on the s54 will come from the reluctor ring on the crank in the sump.

You used to see that kind of thing when you had the wrong coding plug in the dash (4cyl dash in a 6 cly) so my complete guess would be that its something coding wise rather than a fault per se

best of luck
Iain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 02:56 AM   #5
7DT
Achieved official socks
 
7DT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: London
Posts: 757
Car: 2002 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Black
Default

Well the ecu is an unknown. It was bought of this site 7 months ago.

I changed the vin on it using the ecuworx instructions. Started the car. Was fine so we went ahead with the airbox.

Put airbox on and meticulously checked the wiring and went off the guides on here (incidentally the pin out picture is incorrect for a gm map with abc pin out, but I'll put that in the main thread)

Only problem we had was the map sensor bein wired incorrectly but rectified that quickly and once that was fixed the engine EML light we had on first start post airbox install went and it started fine.

Revved it in the garage. All fine.

So I started driving home and all fine.

Accelerated onto dual carriageway and gave it some beans, and the MEL came on. Car into limp mode.

Got it back to garage. Repeated the whole sequence of:
- clear codes
- drive car (all fine)
- rev past 5k-ish (causes eml and limp mode)

Done this test with inpa running and when it goes wrong the rpm reading is 12 to 15000.

However the rev counter on the cluster dies bit read that and looks normally (I'd expect the needle to go haywire gong of inpa readings)

It's baffling.

The airbox might be a red herring in this, we also changed the oil level sensor as that had gone.

Also changed rear brake discs pads and wear sensor.

Also change wheels get on 19 to 18s


Forgotvto add that We swapped the easy to get to TPS but this had no effect. Literally did the same testvresukting in same rrpm symptom and fault codes eml and limp mode
7DT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 03:51 PM   #6
Ripper46
Achieved official socks
 
Ripper46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 2,805
Car: E46 M3 track car
Colour Combo: White, with spires colours and logos
Default

I had exactly the same issue and symptoms, replace TPS all good now
Ripper46 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 04:03 PM   #7
Martyn
Achieved official socks
 
Martyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poole, Dorset
Posts: 1,390
Car: 2006 E46 M3
Colour Combo: Silver Grey / Imola
Default

Have you checked the clips on the throttle bodies are not too tight and are not obstructing the linkage? I wouldn’t expect a TPS to just to go like that.
Martyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 05:23 PM   #8
7DT
Achieved official socks
 
7DT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: London
Posts: 757
Car: 2002 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Black
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripper46 View Post
I had exactly the same issue and symptoms, replace TPS all good now
which sensor? There's 3 of them aren't there? We swapped the easy one as it was cold raining and 10pm

Last edited by 7DT; 11th February 2018 at 05:25 PM.
7DT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 05:25 PM   #9
7DT
Achieved official socks
 
7DT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: London
Posts: 757
Car: 2002 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Black
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martyn View Post
Have you checked the clips on the throttle bodies are not too tight and are not obstructing the linkage? I wouldn’t expect a TPS to just to go like that.
Surely it would then exhibit the error codes when revving it whilst stationary?
7DT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 05:26 PM   #10
7DT
Achieved official socks
 
7DT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: London
Posts: 757
Car: 2002 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Black
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripper46 View Post
I had exactly the same issue and symptoms, replace TPS all good now
Same RPM issue on inpa but not on the dial?
7DT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 05:29 PM   #11
Ripper46
Achieved official socks
 
Ripper46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 2,805
Car: E46 M3 track car
Colour Combo: White, with spires colours and logos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7DT View Post
which sensor? There's 3 of them aren't there? We swapped the easy one as it was cold raining and 10pm
I could turn off the car turn it back on and it would rest , but would go into Limp mode again , I changed all 3 , one at a time , it was the one on the throttle actuator
Ripper46 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 06:16 PM   #12
7DT
Achieved official socks
 
7DT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: London
Posts: 757
Car: 2002 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Black
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripper46 View Post
I could turn off the car turn it back on and it would rest , but would go into Limp mode again , I changed all 3 , one at a time , it was the one on the throttle actuator
With or without clearing errors? On mine I literally have to clear the errors, and then it's fine until it hits 5k whilst moving.
7DT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 06:27 PM   #13
Ripper46
Achieved official socks
 
Ripper46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 2,805
Car: E46 M3 track car
Colour Combo: White, with spires colours and logos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7DT View Post
With or without clearing errors? On mine I literally have to clear the errors, and then it's fine until it hits 5k whilst moving.
I could literally just turn it off then back on
Ripper46 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2018, 06:54 PM   #14
m3shift
On the path
 
m3shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 88
Car: BMW M3 E46
Colour Combo: Sliver and Red Leather
Default

Replace the 2 sensors, the 3rd one cannot be replaced it's a whole new pedal assembly from BMW or a second hand one from ebay but you take risk again it could also be faulty or go faulty in time.

When installing the new TPS you must go into INPA and reset the Adaptations for your TPS or it will keep throwing the same EML when driving,

Mine was having some issue at 3,5k RPM were I could feel a stutter/shake coming on and I knew the car was going to go into LIMP mode if I carried on accelerating any further it would always throw the EML and hand break light in orange, seamed to be worse in sports mode.

In the end I bought the x2 new sensors from BMW at like £120 each removed the intake pellum slapped a new sensor in deleted all codes reset all adaptations with INPA

And shes been fine for 2 years now, I do remember this issue it's awful It really doesn't give you any confidence I remember I use to be scared to overtake cars in case my car hit limp mode mid overtake it wouldn't rev past like 2k

Last edited by m3shift; 11th February 2018 at 07:03 PM.
m3shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2018, 03:44 PM   #15
7DT
Achieved official socks
 
7DT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: London
Posts: 757
Car: 2002 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Black
Default

Ended up being either the TPS sensor under the airbox, or the jubilee clips catching. All fixed now. Thanks for all the help and insights!
7DT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2018, 10:59 PM   #16
Jaap
Wearing official robes
 
Jaap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 318
Car: e46 M3
Default

For future reference: it's usually the harder-to reach TPS under the airbox that is at fault.
Maybe because it gets hotter?
Jaap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2018, 11:05 AM   #17
AC427
Achieved official socks
 
AC427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,412
Car: E46 M3 Convertible
Colour Combo: Estoril / Champagne
Default

Are there alternatives suppliers to the BMW TPS part or is it OEM only?
AC427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2018, 11:45 AM   #18
m3rosco
Achieved official socks
 
m3rosco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 4,462
Car: 2002 bmw m3
Colour Combo: phoenix yellow / black
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC427 View Post
Are there alternatives suppliers to the BMW TPS part or is it OEM only?
I’m fairly sure Hella make the BMW ones.
m3rosco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2018, 01:18 PM   #19
Ef52
On the path
 
Ef52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 84
Car: 2003 vert m3
Default

From what I read Hella is or was OEM. I just picked one up off ebay for £48
Ef52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:29 AM.


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies this website uses, click here.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 - 2014 M3cutters. All Rights Reserved.