The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum
 

Go Back   The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum > M3cutters Garage > Faults, Fixes and Solutions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st March 2018, 03:01 PM   #1
thatnoise
A mere Chipper
 
thatnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 31
Car: 2004 manual m3
Colour Combo: Silver grey /imola red
Default Parrot asteroid smart steering wheel controls.

Hi, currently trying to get all the minor niggles addressed on the m3 before I do a nc500 style tour of Scotland in May. I have a parrot asteroid smart headunit fitted atm but it really annoys me that I cant control it through the steering wheel. Can anyone point me in the right direction of the cable I need which allow me to do this.

Cheers
thatnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Old 21st March 2018, 07:50 PM   #2
ExCop530dT
Achieved official socks
 
ExCop530dT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Heathrow/Slough
Posts: 2,834
Car: E39 Ex Police 530d Touring
Default

Hi,

Get in touch with Connects2 and ask about getting this item

https://www.connects2.co.uk/Product/...ASTEROIDLEAD.3

Also, look for the Parrot Unika module.

You might need other adaptors/leads, I'm not sure. The reason I'm not sure is I've never wanted to fit steering wheel adaptors as I just reach over 10 inches and make an adjustment ! On my Asteroid Smart, I always found the screen and responsiveness very good so making changes is very quick to do.

Speak to some good reputable independent car audio installers/dealers too.

Cheers, Dennis!
ExCop530dT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2018, 09:15 PM   #3
thatnoise
A mere Chipper
 
thatnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 31
Car: 2004 manual m3
Colour Combo: Silver grey /imola red
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ExCop530dT View Post
Hi,

Get in touch with Connects2 and ask about getting this item

https://www.connects2.co.uk/Product/...ASTEROIDLEAD.3

Also, look for the Parrot Unika module.

You might need other adaptors/leads, I'm not sure. The reason I'm not sure is I've never wanted to fit steering wheel adaptors as I just reach over 10 inches and make an adjustment ! On my Asteroid Smart, I always found the screen and responsiveness very good so making changes is very quick to do.

Speak to some good reputable independent car audio installers/dealers too.

Cheers, Dennis!
Cheers denis i feel its much safer than taking your eyes off the road to look at the screen. Its not that i cant be bothered to move my arm haha
thatnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2018, 07:45 PM   #4
Chinnyman
Wearing official underwear
 
Chinnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 285
Car: E46
Default

I've used a connects2 lead with an Alpine headunit and it changes volume and tracks but the button with the mouth in doesnt work. I aas hoping it opened up "Ok Google "
Chinnyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2018, 11:52 AM   #5
rusticm3
Achieved official socks
 
rusticm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 1,230
Car: 2004 BMW E46 M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Imola Red
Default

I have this head unit and i got the correct cable, it worked to start with then has never worked since. I can only presume a cable has been knocked as all the wiring is pretty crammed in.
rusticm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2018, 11:00 PM   #6
thatnoise
A mere Chipper
 
thatnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 31
Car: 2004 manual m3
Colour Combo: Silver grey /imola red
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chinnyman View Post
I've used a connects2 lead with an Alpine headunit and it changes volume and tracks but the button with the mouth in doesnt work. I aas hoping it opened up "Ok Google "
cheers mate as long as the tracks and volume change thats the main thing. the most frequent use of it anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rusticm3 View Post
I have this head unit and i got the correct cable, it worked to start with then has never worked since. I can only presume a cable has been knocked as all the wiring is pretty crammed in.
yeah probably cheers mate did you use the connects2 one as well ?
thatnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2018, 11:14 PM   #7
rusticm3
Achieved official socks
 
rusticm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 1,230
Car: 2004 BMW E46 M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Imola Red
Default

Yeah im sure i did, its funny how someone elses has stopped working too. When mine first stopped working just killing the power seemed to fix it until i stopped working altogether. To be honest its never bothered me enough to pull the head unit out.
rusticm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:22 PM.


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies this website uses, click here.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 - 2014 M3cutters. All Rights Reserved.