The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum

Go Back   The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum > M3cutters Garage > Track-days

Old 15th June 2018, 02:21 PM   #1
7DT
Achieved official socks

Car: 2002 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black / Black
Default Booked first track session, tips?

Booked it Wednesday for this Saturday on whim at brands hatch, so not really given myself any time to really pr we pare. Any tips? Crap I should bring? Had car up on ramp to check it last night and it all looks ok, will check fluids this eve.

Anyway, help a total novice out!
7DT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Old 15th June 2018, 02:31 PM   #2
sydown
Achieved official socks

Car: E46 M3 Track Car
Colour Combo: Carbon Black

Congrats on booking your first track session in the car.
Take some extra oil in case it uses any on track, tyre pressure gauge to check pressures after the first session (chances are you will need to let a little air out as they will be a higher pressure when hot).

As you say check all fluids before you go and ensure all of the brake pads have a good amount of friction material left on them.

Short of that just have fun and don't push too hard! If you can get some instruction while you are there so much the better, if not an experienced track day driver should be able to give you some tips!

Last edited by sydown; 15th June 2018 at 02:35 PM.
sydown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2018, 03:28 PM   #3
Telsy
Achieved official socks

Car: 2017 F80 M3 DCT Comp pack
Colour Combo: Silverstone / Black

As he said ^^^, just take it easy, build up your pace and have fun. Remember the aim of the day is to be able to drive home, car and yourself in one piece with an ear to ear grin.
Telsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2018, 04:47 PM   #4
billyboym3
Achieved official socks

Car: 2004 BMW M3
Colour Combo: E46 M3

Do short stints and keep your fluids up, drink plenty of water and I would book instruction first thing.