The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum

Go Back   The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum > M3cutters Garage > Detailing, Valeting and Car care

Old 3rd July 2018, 02:01 PM   #1
Iatm
Achieved official socks

Car: M6 Gran Coupe LCI
Default Need Beginners advise to look after newly detailed car

Hi All,

Need some advise. Have my car newly detailed and want to look after it. Even though I have some knowledge of good cleaning habits I just need some advise to confirm and on what products

1) Pre clean - Have used snowfoam in the past - any recommendations on what to use? I have the flance thing that foams it all up in a bottle which attaches to the jetwash lance.

2) Very confused with conflicting info on how to clean, 2 bucket method I have heard of, Have also heard of the 6 mitt 1 bucket method (LOL), I once read a guy used to use 6 mits and 1 bucket. used a mitt per panel and never used it again: went straight into the washing machine; seemed like a good idea!
Also what mitt!? Maybe a sponge?

3) Drying - always used a large drying towel, recently a chamios cloth but would really like to make it a blow dry type dry. I know car dryers are starting to come out so any recommendations or a particular leaf blower that will do a good job.

If it matters, I have the Gtechniq Exo treatment done on it.

Any other advise or information would be great!

Thanks
Iatm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Old 3rd July 2018, 02:23 PM   #2
D63
On the path

Car: Milk float

Simple, you have GT products on the car use the same brand to maintain it, 3 buckets 2 mitts, 1 bucket for the wheels and tail pipes the other 2 for paint and windows, buy a set of wheel woolies for cleaning the wheels properly, sorted.
D63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2018, 02:42 PM   #3
Iatm
Achieved official socks

Car: M6 Gran Coupe LCI

Quote:
Originally Posted by D63 View Post