The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum
 

Go Back   The M3cutters - UK BMW M3 Group Forum > M3cutters Garage > Faults, Fixes and Solutions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th January 2018, 07:40 AM   #21
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

No, it's called OBD.ini
It's in
C:\ediabas\bin

Last edited by E46CoupeM3; 15th January 2018 at 07:46 AM.
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Old 15th January 2018, 06:24 PM   #22
timotei198
A mere Chipper
 
timotei198's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 40
Car: E46 M3
Colour Combo: Silver Grey
Default

Richard6, Sorry for jumping in on your thread but I hope this may help you as well as me. These are my settings:

OBD.ini? file that is just called OBD on my screen in EDIABAS - bin.


My OBD settings:

[OBD]
Hardware=USB
Port=Com5
RETRY=ON
[UNIT_G]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com8
[UNIT_K]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com12
[UNIT_C]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com4
[UNIT_N]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com15
[UNIT_B]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com3
[UNIT_F]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com7
[UNIT_H]
Port=Com9
Hardware=OBD
[UNIT_J]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com11
[UNIT_D]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com2
[UNIT_E]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com6
[UNIT_I]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com10
[UNIT_L]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com13
[UNIT_O]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com16
[UNIT_M]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com14
[UNIT_A]
Hardware=OBD
Port=Com1

Device manager port settings:


My error message when try to set up DCAN to 100 kbit/s K-CAN:


E46CoupeM3, thanks for the help so far, hope to be able to get to the bottom of this.

Last edited by timotei198; 15th January 2018 at 09:42 PM.
timotei198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2018, 09:13 PM   #23
Richard6
Achieved official socks
 
Richard6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,652
Car: E46 Coupe
Default

No problem posting hereTimotei198, anything that gets to the bottom of the problems is welcome.

Im going to attempt uploading some screen grabs here which might help. Bare with me as i have just created the postimage account and its all new to me, hopefully will get up all the info requested by end of the night. i have the dog to walk so will be on & off adding (or trying to) stuff on. Please bear with me..

Device manager;


Cable details;


Cable Driver Details;


Cable Drivers;


Cable Port Settings;


Cable Properties;


Inpa Engine Error;


Inpa Error;


OBD;

Last edited by Richard6; 16th January 2018 at 10:22 PM. Reason: Increase resolution
Richard6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2018, 09:17 PM   #24
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

^where is the obd.ini contents.

Last edited by E46CoupeM3; 16th January 2018 at 09:39 PM.
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2018, 09:41 PM   #25
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

Device manager is fuzzy, I assume it says ports COM1 and 4, is this correct?

Also did you run OBDsetup from the command prompt as requested and the output from that
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2018, 09:46 PM   #26
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

Also wouldn't mind seeing contents of ediabas.ini
The ini files would be better as text pasted in in possible.



( I would say your interface is not on the com port INPA is speaking to through the ediabas program.

I might run the OBDsetup as I described, not double click to see the output.
Test again if output ok
If still not working
Change OBD.ini to com4
Rerun the obdsetup and try again

But if working through it logically I would be checking the resources the cable uses to see if they relate to a com port. I am not sure com1 and com 4 should be showing, I might delete those then unplug and replug the cable to see if just one appears - this is messy though, prefer to see what the files say)
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2018, 10:54 PM   #27
Richard6
Achieved official socks
 
Richard6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,652
Car: E46 Coupe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by E46CoupeM3 View Post
Device manager is fuzzy, I assume it says ports COM1 and 4, is this correct?

Also did you run OBDsetup from the command prompt as requested and the output from that
Had just ran it through explorer, need a MSDOS refresher course, have upsized the device manager image

Richard6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2018, 11:00 PM   #28
Richard6
Achieved official socks
 
Richard6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,652
Car: E46 Coupe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by E46CoupeM3 View Post
Also wouldn't mind seeing contents of ediabas.ini
The ini files would be better as text pasted in in possible.
[Configuration]
IfhTrace=0
IgnitionHandling=0
Interface=STD:OBD
LogLevel=0
ApiTrace=0
TraceSize=1024
SimulationPath=C:\EDIABAS\SIM
RetryComm=1
ClampHandling=0
TraceHistory=0
EcuPath=C:\EDIABAS\ECU
NetworkProtocol=TCP
Simulation=0
TracePath=C:\EDIABAS\TRACE
TraceBuffering=0
ShowIcon=1
SystemResults=1
TaskPriority=0
TraceSync=1
UbattHandling=0
[XEthernet]
ControlPort=6811
DiagnosticPort=6801
HeaderFormat=0
RemoteHost=192.168.68.1
TesterAddress=F4,F5
TimeoutConnect=20000
[TCP]
Port=3000
RemoteHost=LMUC203404
TimeoutConnect=2000
TimeoutFunction=10000
TimeoutReceive=2000
[IfhProxy]
Port=6801
Richard6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2018, 11:24 PM   #29
Richard6
Achieved official socks
 
Richard6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,652
Car: E46 Coupe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by E46CoupeM3 View Post

I might run the OBDsetup as I described, not double click to see the output.
Richard6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 01:56 AM   #30
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

I think it looks like either you have com1 in the OBD.ini and its com4
Or the two USB com ports need deleting and the cable then reinstall

1 cable shouldn't be on 2 ports and show as a cable too
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 07:39 AM   #31
timotei198
A mere Chipper
 
timotei198's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 40
Car: E46 M3
Colour Combo: Silver Grey
Default

Richard6,
Have you done this part and if so what was the outcome?:


The car I'm trying to connect to is an E46 M3, do I need to do this part? My cable is a "K-LINE Cable (Blue Cable)"

Thanks
timotei198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 08:22 AM   #32
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

Richard6
Device manager shows com3 and com4
Obd.ini shows com 1
Edit obd.ini in the top 2 or 3 lines
Run obdsetup
Try for each
Note you will always get interface disturbed if not hooked to car and ignition on
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 08:09 PM   #33
Richard6
Achieved official socks
 
Richard6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,652
Car: E46 Coupe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timotei198 View Post
Richard6,
Have you done this part and if so what was the outcome?:


The car I'm trying to connect to is an E46 M3, do I need to do this part? My cable is a "K-LINE Cable (Blue Cable)"

Thanks
I was under the impression that was for the Dcan cable. I've only got the blue k-line one so haven't looked as far as that.
Richard6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 08:13 PM   #34
Richard6
Achieved official socks
 
Richard6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,652
Car: E46 Coupe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by E46CoupeM3 View Post
Richard6
Device manager shows com3 and com4
Obd.ini shows com 1
Edit obd.ini in the top 2 or 3 lines
Run obdsetup
Try for each
Note you will always get interface disturbed if not hooked to car and ignition on
Will boot up the PC and look at this once I've dealt with the dog and other man duties then I won't get disturbed hopefully.

Do I just change it going in through windows explorer and save it there?

Thanks again, Richard.
Richard6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 08:23 PM   #35
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard6 View Post
Will boot up the PC and look at this once I've dealt with the dog and other man duties then I won't get disturbed hopefully.

Do I just change it going in through windows explorer and save it there?

Thanks again, Richard.
Looking at your pc you viewed it in notepad (notepad written top left corner)

So edit in there.

Ideally right click ->copy
right click -> Paste first
SO you have a backup before editing

From what I see if the com 3 or com 4 is the correct port that is not in the OBD.ini at present

What I don't know - as said earlier why you have the 3 entries.
If we could see the resources used for the cable item they could relate to a com port such as com1 and the config be correct

However, it doesn't look right but base on what I know and what I think you can do following instructions as said earlier

edit obd.ini
run obdsetup
try to connect to car
if failed CLOSE INPA AND EDIABAS
edit file to be the other com port and try again

If it doesn't work put it back as was

Then have a re-read of the earlier post I made about having the two com ports and cable showing

Remember car ignition lights have to be on

Might also be worth checking com port baud rate is 9600 IIRC

As I say partially working blind here
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 10:40 PM   #36
Richard6
Achieved official socks
 
Richard6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,652
Car: E46 Coupe
Default

Just having a look through all this again and in the advanced settings -

(Device manager>Ports (Com &LPT) > BMCABLES.COM Diagnostic Cable>Properties>Port Settings>Advanced)

The USB transfer size is set at 4096 for transmit & receive?

When I click on the COM Port Number (which says COM1) and the drop down list appears, it says COM3, COM 4 and COM5 are in use next to them. All the others are blank?

When I disable the Cable and go into Device manager>Ports (Com &LPT) >RIM Virtual Serial Port v2 (COM3)>Properties>Port Settings>Advanced) and select COM3 and the list drops down, it says only COM4 & COM5 are in use?

When I go into Device manager>Ports (Com &LPT) >RIM Virtual Serial Port v2 (COM4)>Properties>Port Settings>Advanced) and select COM4 and the list drops down, it says only COM3 & COM5 are in use?


Not sure if that narrows my issue down any though
Richard6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 10:53 PM   #37
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

Right so in theory the cable is on COM1 and the OBD.ini says com1 so the two should be aligned.

If a cable is connected to the car and you turn off the ignitions you get transmission interrupted or similar. When it's correctly connected to the car but the module you are after is not there or not responding it says not responding.

So you can work through the stuff mentioned before or you can reinstall the cable (mentioned before) or you can look for Baudrate in there and make sure it's 9600
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2018, 10:54 PM   #38
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

When you unplug the cable do all three items, cable and the two com ports, disappear?
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2018, 12:48 AM   #39
Richard6
Achieved official socks
 
Richard6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,652
Car: E46 Coupe
Default

The two com ports stay, that's what I was saying in the last post. I thought that might have been my two USB ports represented (only has two), but why one doesn't disappear when I plug in the cable.

I've forgotten virtually everything I learned about computers back in the day. Haven't been in the device manager of a computer since about 2001

If she stopped giving me earache, I might be able to get my head round it before my Tramadol & Gabapentin kick in and I get hit with real brain fog.
Richard6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2018, 08:57 AM   #40
E46CoupeM3
Achieved official socks
 
E46CoupeM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: England
Posts: 15,082
Car: 2001 BMW M3
Colour Combo: Carbon Black
Default

USB ports are not represented as com ports when nothing is plugged in so something is wrong or they are for something else.

Work through the stuff already said
Make sure cable gets a power light when plugged in the socket
Make sure no pins bent in cable and socket

However, I think you are on the right com port but noharm trying the others and putting it back

After that I would right click -> uuninstall those USB com ports and the cable and then reinstall the cable
E46CoupeM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35 AM.


This website uses cookies. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies this website uses, click here.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2007 - 2018 M3cutters. All Rights Reserved.